Henry Dunant University College

______

 

Henry Dunant University College (HUDU) is an institution created in 1995 that organizes university-level training courses for governmental and non-governmental actors on human rights, in collaboration with international, humanitarian and non-governmental organizations active in Geneva and in the field.
Henry Dunant, founder of The Red Cross and modern humanitarian law, pioneer of international collaboration, inspires our commitment.

 

 

 

 

University level training

 

Henry Dunant University College is a non profit foundation under Swiss law. For the implementation of its trainings, it collaborates with nearly 30 other institutions: universities, international organisations, NGOs and research institutes from Africa, the Americas and Europe.
______

 

The University College

Training

Other activities

Henry Dunant University College (CUHD) is a recognized non profit Swiss Foundation that organizes training in human rights...

 

The programmes are aimed at stakeholders in the concrete implementation of fundamental human rights, in governments (civil servants, diplomats, etc.), in local communities and civil society (NGOs, association leaders, etc.)...
The Henry Dunant University College develops initiatives in the field of the anthropology of the life and dignity of the person, the integral development of the person, the integral ecology and peace by promoting the common good...

WITH THE COLLABORATION OF

OUR TRAININGS IN FIGURES

TRAININGS CREATED

PARTICIPANTS

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN OF THE PARTICIPANTS

FOUNDATION BOARD

Michel Veuthey

Michel Veuthey

President

Doctor of law, University of Geneva. Former adviser to the President of the International Committee of the Red Cross. He was also head of the Division of international organizations and head of the delegation for South Africa and the Indian Ocean of the same organization. He is Associate Professor at Webster University Geneva, as well as Ambassador of the Order of Malta to combat trafficking in persons and Deputy Permanent Observer of the Order of Malta to international organizations in Geneva. He is also Vice-President of the International Institute of humanitarian law and Director of the summer course of humanitarian law in San Remo.

Kelly Ryan

Kelly Ryan

Vice-President

Kelly Ryan is the Coordinator of the intergovernmental consultations on migration, asylum and refugees (CIG). As a senior official of the United States Federal Government, from 2010 to 2013, she was acting Assistant Deputy Secretary for immigration and border security at the Department of Homeland Security and 2002 to 2009, Assistant Deputy Secretary for Office of population, refugees and migration of the State Department. She has headed the offices of admission of refugees, population and international migration. Ryan graduated from Tulane University and holds a J.D. from Georgetown University and a LL.M. from the University of Cambridge. She is a member of the advisory board of THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA

Oreste Foppiani

Oreste Foppiani

Vice-President

Oreste Foppiani is Associate Professor of International History and Politics at Webster University in Geneva, where he heads the Department of International Relations. He received a doctorate in international history and politics from the University Institute of Advanced Studies (IUHEID). During his doctoral program, he received the Albert Gallatin Fellowship in International Affairs to spend a year at SAIS in Washington, DC. From 2013 to 2016, Foppiani was a visiting scholar or associate professor at JMSDF Command and Staff College, SIPEC at Aoyama Gakuin University and CEMS at New York University. He has conducted research on the Spanish-American War, Anglo-American relations during the Second World War, the beginning of the Cold War, the American and Italian navies, European integration, EU security policies, EU-US relations and the migration crisis in the Mediterranean Sea.

Stefania Gandolfi

Stefania Gandolfi

Secretary of the Board

Holder of the UNESCO Chair "human rights and ethics of international cooperation" of the University of Bergamo (Italy), she is also Professor of comparative education and human rights pedagogy. Her research follows three directions: intercultural education and citizenship, education in conflict societies, and the right to education and human rights education. She has a strong experience in international cooperation, particularly with Africa and Latin America.

Charles L. Glenn

Charles L. Glenn

Member of the Board

Charles L. Glenn is a Professor of leadership in education and development and former Dean of the Faculty of education at Boston University, where he teaches the history of education and comparative politics. From 1970 to 1991, he was Director of urban education and equity at the Massachusetts Ministry of education, with the administration of over 200 million million in public funds for magnets schools and desegregation, and the initial responsibility for the country's first bilingual education programme. He is a member of the Massachusetts State Advisory Committee to the American Civil Rights Commission.

Paul Dembinski

Paul Dembinski

Member of the Board

Paul Dembinski studied political science in Geneva and obtained a doctorate in political economics (1982). Since 1979, he is Assistant and Master Assistant at the University of Geneva and then becomes Associate Professor (in 1991) at the University of Fribourg and now occupies part-time the Chair of international strategy and competition. Director of the Observatory of finance, "think-tank" which makes the connection between the world of financial techniques and practices and the requirements of the common good.

Carlo M. Marenghi

Carlo M. Marenghi

Member of the Board

Dr. Carlo M. Marenghi, Ph.d. is the legal adviser to the Permanent Mission of the Holy see to the United Nations and specialized agencies in Geneva. Mr. Marenghi is Dr. suma con laude in international and comparative law at the Pontifical Lateran University in the Vatican. His doctoral thesis analysed the provisions of the TRIPS agreement in the LDCs and their impact on national legal systems. Mr. Marenghi has written and published extensively on health, commerce, intellectual property, labour and human rights, particularly in the context of the social doctrine of the Catholic Church. Mr. Marenghi was born in Avellino, Italy. He has lived in Geneva since 2009, when he began working for the Permanent Mission of the Holy See. Since 2015, Mr. Marenghi has also been an international lecturer at Webster University in Geneva and speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian and Romanian.

OUR VALUES

Our inspiration

Henry Dunant University College (CUHD) in Geneva aims to contribute to the promotion of a true culture of human rights and human dignity. A culture of human rights means a universally shared vision of the world based on the values of the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights, but also on the anthropological sources of law. A new hope is needed to give new impetus to our societies in crisis: a culture that promotes the dignity and integral development of the person must be taught to build a just world and a future for every human being. The theme of integral ecology is central to our thinking.

Interdisciplinary training

The training provided byHenry Dunant University College (CUHD), is intended to be interdisciplinary and in some respects heterodox in relation to the traditional approach to human rights. Aware of the difficulties inherent in interdisciplinarity, the CUHD believes that a new perspective is needed on a subject which, while emerging within the framework of law, goes far beyond its borders. At the risk of sounding confusing, the Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant(CUHD) prefers a certain complexity to the false clarity of preconceived ideas.

CUHD wishes, in particular, to show the student, direct or indirect actor, the gap between the ideal and the possible, between what one would like to do and what the political, social and above all cultural circumstances allow to do. At the end of the training, he should be able to make a distinction between the classical academic vision, the pragmatic vision of the human rights technician and the political vision, in the noble sense of the word.

For a more just and united world

The Henry Dunant University College (CUHD) believes that the values of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights are necessary to build a more just and inclusive world, with justice and solidarity only meaningful if the source of the law and the rule of law over violence are reaffirmed from them. The mission of the CUHD is to encourage an international society genuinely based on law and not on partisan interests.

A catalyst for change

Aware that the creation of a genuine culture of human rights and human dignity requires the coordinated effort of all social forces acting at the international level, the CUHD has set itself a modest objective: born with the clear vocation of bringing together actors who are sometimes distant, both geographically and in terms of mentalities, the CUHD aims to be a catalyst. Its ambition is to provide participants with the tools that will enable them to work at home, at their own level, towards the advent of this culture of peace and development, which fully respects the dignity of the individual, a culture of integral human development.

Practical and useful training

During their training, students meet various public and civil figures who exchange with them and testify about their experiences; they participate in international meetings as attentive and critical observers, in order to acquire real know-how and an understanding of the unwritten laws of human relations in politics. At the end of the training, he should be able to reflect on what is becoming the fundamental motivation for political, economic, social and cultural action in the 21st century.

Dialogue between cultures

The questioning of universality is a serious matter; it was predictable at a time when "strong" thoughts and ideologies are resurfacing. The period of the years 70/80 characterized by doubts and thoughts "Softs" – a time known as the soft consensus – had frozen reflection on the philosophical foundations of human rights. Today, more than ever, however, this reflection on the foundations of human dignity that underpin the universality of the protection of human rights has become essential.

Henry Dunant University College (CUHD) believes that the debate on universality must be reopened and placed at the level of rationality. Independence, here, does not mean rejection of the other, as human rights can only be imposed as a "universal culture" if it is universally shared. Continuity between cultures and human rights does not exclude differences, it is rooted in them, culture being first and foremost a living culture: this life having meaning only in and through the dialogue of cultures.

Secured By miniOrange

Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant

______

 

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) est une institution créée en 1995 qui organise des cours de formation de niveau universitaire, destinés aux acteurs gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux sur les droits de la personne, en collaboration avec les organisations internationales, humanitaires et non gouvernementales actives à Genève et sur le terrain.
Henry Dunant, fondateur de La Croix-Rouge et du droit humanitaire moderne, pionnier de la collaboration internationale, inspire notre engagement.

 

 

 

 

Formation de niveau universitaire

Le Collège universitaire Henry Dunant est une fondation de droit suisse reconnue d’utilité publique. Pour la mise en œuvre de ses formations, elle collabore avec des universités, organisations internationales, ONG et instituts de recherche de l’Afrique, des Amériques et d’Europe.
______

 

Le Collège Universitaire

Les Formations

Autres activités

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) est une fondation suisse reconnue d’utilité publique qui organise des formations en droits de l’homme...

 

 Les programmes s’adressent aux parties prenantes de mise en oeuvre concrète des droits fondamentaux de la personne, dans les gouvernements (fonctionnaires, diplomates, etc..), dans les communautés locales et la société civile (ONG, responsables d'associations etc)...

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant développe des initiatives dans le domaine de l'anthropologie de la vie et de la dignité de la personne, du développement intégral de la personne, de l'écologie intégrale et de la paix  en promouvant le bien commun...

AVEC LA COLLABORATION DE

NOS FORMATIONS EN CHIFFRES

FORMATIONS CRÉÉES

PARTICIPANTS

PAYS D'ORIGINE DES PARTICIPANTS

CONSEIL DE FONDATION

Michel Veuthey

Michel Veuthey

Président

Docteur en droit de l’Université de Genève. Ancien conseiller du Président du Comité International de la Croix Rouge. Il a été également Chef de la Division des Organisations internationales et Chef de la Délégation pour l’Afrique du Sud et l’Océan Indien de la même organisation. Il est Professeur associé à l’Université Webster University Genève, ainsi que Ambassadeur de l’Ordre de Malte pour lutter contre la traite de personnes et Observateur permanent adjoint de l’Ordre de Malte auprès des Organisations internationales à Genève. Il est également Vice-président de l’Institut international de droit humanitaire et Directeur du Cours d’été de droit humanitaire à San Remo.

Kelly Ryan

Kelly Ryan

Vice-Presidente

Kelly Ryan est la coordinatrice des Consultations intergouvernementales sur les migrations, l'asile et les réfugiés (CIG). Comme haut fonctionnaire du gouvernement fédéral des Étas-Unis, de 2010 à 2013, elle a été sous-secrétaire adjoint par intérim à l'immigration et à la sécurité frontalière au Département de la sécurité intérieure et de 2002 à 2009, sous-secrétaire adjointe au Bureau de la population, des réfugiés et des migrations du Département d'État. Elle a dirigé les bureaux d'admission des réfugiés, de la population et des migrations internationales. Ryan est diplômé de l'Université de Tulane et détient un J.D. de l'Université de Georgetown et un LL.M. de l'Université de Cambridge. Elle est membre du conseil de consultation de THE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY OF AMERICA

 

 

Oreste Foppiani

Oreste Foppiani

Vice-President

Oreste Foppiani est professeur associé d'histoire et de politique internationales à l'Université Webster de Genève, où il dirige le Département des relations internationales. Il a obtenu un doctorat en histoire et politique internationales de l'Institut universitaire de hautes études (IUHEID). Au cours de son programme de doctorat, il a reçu la bourse Albert Gallatin en affaires internationales pour passer un an à SAIS à Washington, DC. De 2013 à 2016, Foppiani a été chercheur invité ou professeur associé invité au JMSDF Command and Staff College, au SIPEC de l'Université Aoyama Gakuin et au CEMS de l'Université de New York. Il a mené des recherches sur la guerre hispano-américaine, les relations anglo-américaines pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le début de la guerre froide, les marines américaine et italienne, l'intégration européenne, les politiques de sécurité de l'UE, les relations UE-États-Unis et la crise migratoire en mer Méditerranée.

Stefania Gandolfi

Stefania Gandolfi

Secrétaire du Conseil

Titulaire de la Chaire UNESCO « Droits de l’homme et éthique de la coopération internationale » de l’Université de Bergamo (Italie), elle y est également Professeur d’éducation comparée et de pédagogie des droits de l’homme. Sa recherche suit trois directions : l’éducation interculturelle et la citoyenneté, l’éducation dans les sociétés en conflit, et le droit à l’éducation et l’éducation aux droits de l’homme. Elle dispose d’une solide expérience dans la coopération internationale, notamment avec l’Afrique et l’Amérique latine.

Charles L. Glenn

Charles L. Glenn

Membre du Conseil de Fondation

Charles L. Glenn est professeur de Leadership en éducation et développement et ancien doyen de la Faculté d’éducation de l’Université de Boston, où il enseigne l’histoire de l’éducation et de la politique comparée. De 1970 à 1991, il était directeur de l’éducation en milieu urbain et de l’équité au ministère du Massachusetts de l’éducation, avec l’administration de plus de 200 millions de dollars en fonds publics pour les magnets schools et la déségrégation, et la responsabilité initiale pour le pays premier programme d’éducation bilingue. Il est membre du Comité consultatif de l’Etat du Massachusetts à la Commission américaine des droits civils.

Paul Dembinski

Paul Dembinski

Membre du Conseil de Fondation

Paul Dembinski étudié la science politique à Genève et y obtient un doctorat en économie politique (1982). Depuis 1979, il est assistant et maître assistant à l’Université de Genève puis devient professeur associé (en 1991) à l’Université de Fribourg et occupe aujourd’hui à mi-temps la chaire de Stratégie et de Concurrence Internationales. Directeur de l’Observatoire de la Finance, « think-tank » qui fait le lien entre le monde des techniques et pratiques financières et les exigences du bien commun.

Carlo M. Marenghi

Carlo M. Marenghi

Membre du Conseil de Fondation

Le Dr. Carlo M. Marenghi, Ph.D. est conseiller juridique de la Mission permanente du Saint-Siège auprès des Nations Unies et d’institutions spécialisées à Genève. M. Marenghi est docteur Suma con laude en droit international et comparé auprès de l’Université pontificale du Latran, au Vatican. Sa thèse de doctorat analysait les dispositions de l’Accord sur les ADPIC dans les PMA et leur impact sur les systèmes juridiques nationaux. M. Marenghi a beaucoup écrit et publié sur la santé, le commerce, la propriété intellectuelle, le travail et les droits de l’homme, notamment sous l’angle de la doctrine sociale de l’Église catholique. M. Marenghi est né à Avellino, en Italie. Il vit à Genève depuis 2009, année où il a commencé à travailler pour la Mission permanente du Saint-Siège. Depuis 2015, M. Marenghi est également conférencier international à l’Université Webster de Genève et parle anglais, français, espagnol, italien et roumain.

NOS VALEURS

Notre inspiration

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) à Genève entend contribuer à promouvoir une véritable culture des droits de l’homme et de la dignité humaine. Par culture des droits de l’homme, il faut entendre une vision du monde universellement partagée fondée sur les valeurs de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme de 1948, mais également sur les sources anthropologiques du droit. Une nouvelle espérance est nécessaire pour donner un nouvel élan à nos sociétés en crise : une culture qui promeut la dignité ainsi que le développement intégral de la personne doit être enseignée pour construire un monde juste et un futur pour chaque être humain. Le thème de l’écologie intégrale est central dans notre réflexion. 

La formation interdisciplinaire

La formation dispensée par le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD), se veut interdisciplinaire et à certains égards hétérodoxe par rapport à l’approche traditionnelle des droits de l’homme. Consciente des difficultés inhérentes à l’interdisciplinarité, le CUHD estime qu’il faut un regard nouveau sur une matière qui, tout en naissant dans le cadre du droit, dépasse largement ses frontières. Au risque de paraître confus, le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) préfère une certaine complexité à la clarté mensongère des idées toutes faites.

Le CUHD souhaite, en particulier, montrer à l’étudiant, acteur direct ou indirect, l’écart existant entre l’idéal et le possible, entre ce que l’on souhaiterait faire et ce que les circonstances politiques, sociales et surtout culturelles, permettent de faire. Au sortir de la formation, il devra être à même de faire la part des choses, de faire la distinction entre la vision académique classique, la vision pragmatique du technicien des droits de l’homme et la vision politique, au sens noble du mot.

Pour un monde plus juste et solidaire

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) estime que les valeurs de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme sont nécessaires pour fonder un monde plus juste et plus solidaire, la justice et la solidarité n’ayant de sens que si l’on réaffirme, à partir d’elles, la source du droit et la primauté du droit sur la violence. Le CUHD a pour mission d'encourager une société internationale authentiquement basée sur le droit et non sur les intérêts partisans.

Un outil catalyseur de changement

Conscients du fait que la création d’une véritable culture des droits de l’homme et de la dignité humaine nécessite l’effort coordonné de toutes les forces sociales agissant au niveau international, le CUHD se fixe un objectif modeste : né avec la claire vocation de mettre en relation des acteurs parfois éloignés, aussi bien géographiquement que du point de vue des mentalités, le CUHD se veut un catalyseur. Son ambition est de transmettre aux participants les outils qui leur permettront d’œuvrer, chez eux, à leur niveau propre, à l’avènement de cette culture de la paix et du développement pleinement respectueux de la dignité de la personne, une culture du développement intégral de la personne.

Une formation pratique et utile

Durant sa formation, l’étudiant rencontre diverses personnalités publiques et civiles qui échangent avec lui et témoigne de leurs expériences; il participe aux réunions internationales en qualité d’observateur attentif et critique, en vue d’acquérir un véritable savoir-faire et une compréhension des lois non écrites des relations humaines en politique. Au sortir de la formation, il devra être à même de réfléchir sur ce qui est en passe de devenir la motivation fondamentale de l’action politique, économique, sociale et culturelle au XXIème siècle.

Dialogue entre les cultures

La remise en question de l’universalité est une affaire grave; elle était pourtant prévisible en une période où refont surface des pensées et des idéologies “fortes”. La période des années 70 / 80 caractérisée par le doute et les pensées “softs” – époque dite du consensus mou – avait gelé la réflexion sur les fondements philosophiques des droits de l’homme. Or aujourd’hui, plus que jamais, cette réflexion sur les fondements de la dignité humaine qui fondent l'universalité de la protection des droits de l'homme est devenue indispensable.

Le Collège Universitaire Henry Dunant (CUHD) estime que le débat sur l’universalité doit être rouvert et placé au niveau de la rationalité. Indépendance, ici, ne signifie pas rejet de l’autre, les droits de l’homme ne pouvant s’imposer comme “culture universelle” que si celle-ci est universellement partagée. La continuité entre les cultures et les droits de l’homme n’exclut pas les différences, elle s’enracine en elles, la culture étant d’abord culture vivante : cette vie n’ayant de sens que dans et par le dialogue des cultures.

Secured By miniOrange